January 30, 2023

  • Hello 2023!

    The year is starting full of medical issues. The main one being a severe case of cellulitis on my right calf which devolved into an open wound and has required an ultrasound, visit to an urgicare and multiple trips to the doctor. After a courseof strong antibiotics, its on the med and the wound has mostly closed I'm still changing the bandage daily and go back to the dr. again on Friday Feb. 3rd. It's not hurting as much, but bothers me in other ways, such as not being able to lie on my back to sleep. I'm just glad it's improving and can't wait for it to be completley healed. I've had cellulitis before on other areas, but none has been so severe.It's been an icky, painful experience.
    In better news, several art projects are going well. I recently found a drawing I'd started in 2018, which I'd put aside and forgotten about. It's the outline of a tree and inside are squares with varous forest elements such as a raccoon or acorns or wildflowers, etc. This time around, it's going better, and I have more ideas for it I call it the "tree box", though I know I'll need a better name when it's eventually done. I'm hoping to be able to transfer it and begin inking within a couple weeks. I also got another idea for a pen & ink of a sidewinder snake in the sand that I'd like to finish for the Cold-Blooded Creations show in Aug.I'm still trying to get the idea clearer in my mind before starting the preliminary.
    The weather has been a sort of roller coaster. Many snowy days or rain and fog, with the occasional warm days in the 50's F whic feelslike spring. The snow is never very much, usually an inch or so and often melts within a day or two. Usuaully before the next snowfall, so it doesn't pile up. We've had that wet kind of snow which sticks to everything and makes it look like a Christmas card several times & I never tire of the beauty that it brings.
    So a sortof bumpy start to the year, but not without it's bright moments. I'm trying to feel optimistic for the year to come.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *