Month: July 2021

  • pandemic plants

    dino plant, facing rt. (Small)
    Like many people, I've become more interested in house plants during the pandemic and each May buy a couple new kinds. The pic shows one of this year's, a zebra plant in a brontosaurus planter my sister bought me in pre-Covid times. It's grown a bit more since I took the photo in spring, but slow enough that I'm not worried about it outgrowing it's cute dino home. I also bought a purple inch plant, which used to eb called by an anti-Semitic name. That one isn't in a planter yet, as I'm still looking for the puma planter that I so liked as a child. I think it may be on the top shelf in a closet, but haven't climbed up to check yet. The plants from the spring of 2020, a purple passion vine and a croton are still doing well and actually need to be transplanted to bigger pots.
    I'd love to have more vintage pots with animal themes and they do still exist on ebay. But some of them are so overpriced and the shipping costs are ridiculous. I suppose I could buy 1 or 2 that I like best over several months, but I'm still trying to decide if that's feasible.
    There's a few other kinds of plants that I'd like to add to my collection, such as a swiss chees plant, a vine with round leaves which have holes in resembling the famous cheese. I like plants with colorful leaves or unusual shapes.
    At this point, I have more house plants than will fit on my windowsill, so this winter I bought a plant stand with 5 shelves arranged artfully, which I will assemble when I've finished clearing space for it. There's still a couple bags of papers which need to go to the recycling bin before I have the area cleared. It will be pleasing to see the transplanted denizens setting on the stand in front of the window.