February 2, 2022

  • Year of the Tiger

    year of the tiger
    Yesterday was the Lunar New Year & the Year of the Tiger began. I've always liked the Chinese Zodiac, because all the signs are animals. I know most of the Western ones are animals, but they've also got the Gemini twins and the Scorpion, neither appealing and even an inanimate object, the scales for Libra. Most of the Chinese ones are furry animals, with a rooster, a dragon & a snake. All perfectly acceptable.
    I was born in Year of the Rat, which is the most powerful sign & aren't even allowed at feng shui ceremonies. You'd think a dragon would be the most powerful one, they are bigger and magical. But I don't know the story behind all of the symbols, so maybe there's a reason I don't know about which explains the Rat?
    I've always wanted to see one of the lion dancers on the New Year celebrations, but haven't so far and Covid is making it less likely that I will. Maybe someday.
    There's less desperation in marking the Lunar New Year than the one on Jan. 1st. There are certain things that you wis for and hope for others, prosperity & success among them and there's no resolutions, just joy in the moment. I know there's a religious aspect to the day in some areas, too. It feels like a more exciting and less pressurized event all around.