Month: April 2022

  • April showers, sun and ... snow

    This week has been the extreme opposites of Cleveland weather. It snowed on Easter Monday and Tuesday, covering roofs & ground and sticking to trees, then on Saturday was 83F/25C. I actually have a fan going, as it's a bit toasty in some rooms. I had a bowl of soup for supper tonight and regretted it, since it only made me warmer. My sister told me it was to get chilly again by midweek, so it seems this roller coaster weather will linger for awhile.
    ___________________________________________________________________________________________________________________
    With the nice weather comes the urge to g for walks, but I'll admit to be nervous about falling again after last December's incident. I was watching one of Rick Steve's travel programs on TV and notice that in Europe, people use hijing poles for walking, so I ordered a pair online and hope that they give me reassurance & steadiness in walking around the neighborhood. They will have various tips for different kinds of surfaces, including pavement, so I think they will help. I had thought of using a cane, but these might be more practical at this time. Perhaps the novelty of them will will encourage me to go out and use them? I'm hoping so. They will be here by Thursday, so I'm going to think positive.
    hiking poles